In 2001, the Rotary Club of Sun Prairie started an annual tradition to honor community members who exemplify the Rotary motto, "Service Above Self," despite not being Rotarians. Given that these individuals are not part of the Rotary Club, it is helpful to provide some background on the organization.
The name "Rotary" originated from the practice of the club's founders—five men who met weekly to discuss business or professional matters over lunch, rotating the location among their offices. 
At that time, there were no "service clubs," so they established their organization with the goal of serving others. Soon after its inception, the club adopted the motto "Service Above Self."
The Service Above Self Awards will be presented on June 25th at Orfan Park at the Rotary Club annual picnic. The Award Ceremony will be around 6:00 PM. All are welcome to attend.
We are pleased to announce this year’s adult winners:
Darreon Steward nominated by The Entire Board of the Friends of the Neighborhood Navigator
Darreon Steward, a Neighborhood Navigator and Community Health Worker in Sun Prairie and Dane County, connects individuals to resources, helping them navigate systems and overcome barriers while restoring their hope and self-confidence. His genuine, humble approach, combined with his tenacity and willingness to help, makes a significant impact on both his clients and the community, exemplifying service above self.
Livvia & Brian Goff nominated by Dan Presser
Liv and Brian Goff have been pivotal in the Sun Prairie Civic Theatre for over 25 years, founding a children's theater program and involving hundreds of kids in theater arts. Liv, as the Artistic Director of SPCT's Penguin Project, and Brian, as SPCT President and Master Set Builder, have fostered a love of theater and collaboration, making theater accessible and thriving in Sun Prairie.
Tom Kinney nominated by Diana Konkle
Tom Kinney, President of the Sun Prairie Community Garden Organization since 2016, manages 143 plots, secures grants for improvements, and provides guidance to gardeners, earning a reputation as an excellent manager and a "nice guy." Additionally, Tom volunteers extensively for Habitat for Humanity, contributing over 587 hours across 81 shifts, with 275 hours in the current year alone.
We are pleased to announce this year’s student winners:
Suhani Pandey (Student) nominated by Monica Wagner
Suhani has tirelessly volunteered with the Nepali American Friendship Association (NAFA) to preserve Nepali identity and culture in Madison, teaching Nepali language classes and participating in numerous cultural events. Additionally, she has volunteered over 80 hours with DECA, earning the DECA Community Service Excellence Award and the Academic Letter Certification for her dedication.
Jackson Nesbit (Student) nominated by Dan Presser
Jackson, a senior at SP East High School, is a dedicated community volunteer involved with SPCT's Penguin Project, Sun Prairie Media Center, Patrick Marsh, and the FFA Program. His hobbies include theater, forensics, and photography, and he plans to study zoology in college.
Teegan Davis (Student) nominated by Rose Freidel
Since attending RYLA in 2023, Teegan has fully embraced Rotary, starting an Interact Club at Sun Prairie East and participating in the Rotary Short-term Exchange this summer. We anticipate seeing much more of her in the future and look forward to her continued success.