Congratulations to George Alexander, the 2017 winner of SP Rotary’s Hoops for Hope contest. With 1,835 points, George received the Berggren-Hebl traveling trophy and will have the opportunity to designate a charity for the over $400 raised by the event for the Sun Prairie Rotary Foundation.

Hoops for Hope is a Rotary fund raiser centered on the NCAA men’s basketball tournament. Each player pledges a penny for every point scored by six teams they choose before the tourney begins. Twenty-eight Rotarians participated this year.

Other notable Hoops for Hope achievements this year include:

  • Anne Oberle with the most points per game played (81.11)
  • Jon Landsverk (1,391) with the closest to the overall average score of 1,402.6 points
  • Josh Kindkepple was recognized has the high scorer on the second page
  • Deanna Popke and Judy Veith were recognized for coming in second place (1,762) with exactly the same picks.